Laura Fishman Bio

Laura Fishman

Artist Statement
Since my early devotion to painting, I’ve been motivated by a love of nature and a fascination with paint as a material. My paintings feature colour, texture and movement. I use techniques that involve pouring paint, mimicking the dynamic patterns and flow in nature, reminiscent of minerals like marble and agate. I gravitate toward the abstract in art because it allows me the freedom to interpret the world I see through my own creative lens.      

About the Artist
Laura earned her BFA in Painting in her native United States from the State University of New York. It was here she studied with abstract expressionist Joop Sanders, friend and apprentice of Willem de Kooning, and the founder of the American Abstract Expressionism group. The influence of her education can be seen in her abstract works, with her use of bold colour and intuitive style. 
She continued her studies in textile design at the Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, and earned her MA Fine Art at Middlesex University, London. She remains active with artist communities, exhibitions and associations in the United Kingdom, Europe and in the United States. Laura currently lives and works in London, is a GOLDEN Artist Educator and is art curator at Stephens House & Gardens, Finchley.
    

Collections
Laura's work can be found in private and corporate collections in the United Kingdom, the United States, Mexico, the Caribbean, Europe, and the Middle East.

Artist Residencies, Solo Exhibitions & News
2017 - Sky Arts Landscape Artist of the Year Competition, Heat 6 
2015 - Stephens House & Gardens, Residency & Solo Exhibition, London.
2013 - ‘High Viscosity’ Residency & Solo Exhibition, DegreeArt, London.
2012 - 'Blue Grey' Solo Exhibition. The Outside World, Shoreditch, London.
2012 - Signature Art Prize Finalist
2010 - Cass Art Prize Finalist

Galleries & Artist Groups  
508 Kings Road Gallery  - www.508kingsroad.com
Rise Art - www.riseart.com
Mint Arts Gallery - www.mintarts.com
Why Not Art - www.whynotart.com
Singulart - www.singulart.com
Amar Gallery - www.amargallery.com
Affordablea Art Fair - www.affordableartfair.com
Saatchi Art - www.saatchiart.com 
Curious Duke Gallery - www.curiousdukegallery.com
Degree Art Gallery - www.degreeart.com
Luminaire Arts - www.luminairearts.co.uk
ArtCan - www.artcan.org.uk
East Finchley Open Artists - www.eastfinchleyopen.org.uk

Design
Contrado UK - www.contrado.co.uk
VIDA - www.shopvida.com

Commissions
I am happy to discuss commissions to create works that suit specific requirements for your home or corporate interiors.